MINUTES

I. Call to Order

Chair Cleveland called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM.

Members present: Jane Cleveland, Haakon Gangnes, Carlos Arellano, Glen Fleischer, Dr. Kristy Lund, Richard Cunkle and Dr. Rachel Eidelman

Members late: None.

Members absent: None.

Staff present: Jonathan Reinsvold, Tim Stillings, Kelly Ferraiolo, Cory Cramer, Laurie Cohen, Judy Rios, and Helen Archer.

II. Pledge of Allegiance

Pledge of Allegiance was done.

III. Remarks by Committee Chair

Chair Cleveland introduced the committee and went over the procedures for the meeting.

IV. Additions/Deletions/Reordering of Agenda:

On Wednesday, June 7, 2023, a Motion was made by Dr. Rachel Eidelman to move the election of committee chair and vice chair until the end of the meeting, seconded by Dr. Kristy Lund with the Motion passing unanimously (7-0).

V. Approval of Minutes

On Wednesday, June 7, 2023, a Motion was made by Glen Fleischer to approve the EPC Minutes for March 1, 2023 and April 12, 2023, seconded by Dr. Kristy with the Motion passing unanimously (7-0).

VI. New Business

Laurie Cohen-Village Attorney notified the committee that there was a legislative item and a quasijudicial item and the applicant agreed to combine both of the public hearings into one. Witnesses were sworn in, followed by ex-parte communication disclosures.

Wellington South Ordinance No. 2023 -04 Petition 2022-0003-CPA and Resolution R 2023-02 – Petition 2022-005 MPA

Kelly Ferraiolo, Village of Wellington Senior Planner presented Staff Report on Wellington South Ordinance No. 2023-04 Petition 2022-003-CPA and Resolution R2023-02 – Petition 2022-0005 MPA.

Applicants Presentation

Dan Rosenbaum, attorney for Wellington Equestrian Partners and Wellington Lifestyle Partners spoke about the equestrian venues.

Don Hearing of Coutleur and Hearing entered a presentation of project location, comprehensive plan amendments, proposed parcels and compatibility.

Doug McMahon requested additional 10 minutes from the committee.

Chair Cleveland received authorization from the committee members and granted approval of the additional 10 minutes to Mr. McMahon and to both interested parties.

Mr. McMahon, Managing Director of Tavistock Group, Co-Founder of Nexus Luxury Collection and also the Chief Executive Officer of Wellington Lifestyle Partners, presented the benefits generated for the Village of Wellington with the development.

Michael Stone, President of Wellington International and part of the Global Equestrian Group, provided a brief explanation of Global Equestrian Group

Committee Questions directed to Staff

The committee questioned staff regarding the project.

Committee Questions directed to Applicant

Chair Cleveland had questioned for Mr. Rosenbaum the applicant regarding the project.

Interested Parties

Interested Parties questioned staff and applicant representatives regarding the project.

Dr. Kristy Lund motioned to open public hearing, seconded by Glen Fleischer, motion was unanimously passed (7-0)

VII. Public Comments

The following 16 individuals spoke and were opposed to the South Project:

- 1. Patrick Parsons
- 2. Lynda Sirota

- 3. Patricia Bachi
- 4. Maureen Brennan
- 5. Victoria McCollough
- 6. Chris Schubert
- 7. Carol Coleman
- 8. Dr. Carolyn Luther
- 9. Phoebe Weseley
- 10. Ruthann Smith
- 11. Jeff Siskind
- 12. Lauren Brody
- 13. Jill Hoog
- 14. Greg Hinkson
- 15. Beth Baumert
- 16. Roberta Williams

Chair Cleveland asked for a motion to go past 11:00 pm, Glen Fleischer motioned, seconded by Dr. Kristy Lund, motion was unanimously passed (7-0)

Haakon Ganges asked for a motion to continue the meeting at 11:30pm, Glen Fleischer motioned, seconded by Dr. Rachel Edelman, motion passed unanimously (7-0)

The following 48 individuals did not want to speak but are opposed to the project:

- 1. Michael Whitlow
- 2. Richard Sirota
- 3. Judith Gordon
- 4. Paulette Venere
- 5. James Gavigan
- 6. William McCue
- 7. Janna Lhota
- 8. MaryEllen Sencer
- 9. Rose Strain
- 10. Jennifer Benoit
- 11. Maria Newman
- 12. Melinda Rockwell
- 13. Sherri Carfi
- 14. Cynthia Gardner
- 15. Judith Gordon
- 16. Len Feiwus
- 17. Diane Perkins
- 18. Robin Hummel Johnson
- 19. Sherry Maira
- 20. Randy Halvorsron
- 21. Emily Marschok
- 22. Barbara Richardson
- 23. Krystle Rendon

eec21fcc-9244-4965-b79d-13cd6bf2d158.docx Page **3** of **5**

- 24. Jack & Sonja Seals
- 25. Sam Reid
- 26. Edward Marshall
- 27. Karen Ramsing Bixler
- 28. Sahar Daniel Hirosh
- 29. Sydney Schreiber
- 30. Karin Bradeen
- 31. Walker Allen
- 32. Jill Allen
- 33. Janne Rumbough
- 34. Leslie Simpson
- 35. Ruben Johnson
- 36. Edward Marshall
- 37. Lynda Gotlieb
- 38. Marcia Pepper
- 39. Dr. Michael Kohl
- 40. Christopher Benoit
- 41. Joe of Periwinkle Place
- 42. Mark Elie
- 43. Joanne Sekor
- 44. Michael Masso
- 45. William Custer
- 46. Lori Custer
- 47. Barbara Richardson
- 48. Richard Ellis

The following individual spoke in support of the project:

1. Tommy Skiffington

Chair Cleveland asked for a motion to close the public hearing, Dr. Lund motioned, seconded by Glen Fleischer, motion passed unanimously (7-0)

VIII. Staff Comments:

The EPC committee questioned the Applicant, Interested Parties and Staff regarding the project.

IX. Board Comments

Dr. Lund commented stated she could not support the project.

Mr. Arellano voted no.

Chair Cleveland stated she did not support the project.

Mr. Gangnes stated he did not support the project.

Dr. Edelman stated she could not approve.

Mr. Fleischer stated he could not support the application as submitted.

Mr. Cunkle stated he could not approve.

Glen Fleischer motioned to deny the Ordinance 2023-04 Wellington South Comprehensive Plan, seconded by Dr. Rachel Eidelman, motion was unanimously denied (7-0).

Glen Fleischer motioned to deny the Resolution R 2023-02 Master Plan Amendment for Country Place PUD, seconded by Dr. Rachel Eidelman, motion was unanimously denied (7-0)

Election

Dr. Rachel Eidelman motioned for Chair Cleveland to remain Chair of the Equestrian Preserve Committee, motion was made by Dr. Kristy Lund, seconded by Richard Cunkle, motion was unanimously passed (7-0)

Dr. Rachel Eidelman motioned for Haakon Gangnes to remain Vice Chair of the Equestrian Preserve Committee, motion was made by Richard Cunkle, seconded by Dr. Kristy Lund, motion was unanimously passed (7-0)

X. Adjournment

Chair Cleveland adjourned the meeting at 11:39 PM.

Jane Cleveland, Chair

Helen Archer, Recording Secretary