Village of Wellington

12300 Forest Hill Blvd Wellington, FL 33414



Action Summary

Wednesday, March 6, 2024 2:00 PM

Village Hall

Tree Board

Uma Bhatti
Debbie Evans
Maureen Parkes
Dr. Charles Sandell
Kathy Siena
Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano
John Tamsberg

I. CALL TO ORDER

Debbie Evans, Chairperson, opened the meeting at 2:00 PM.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Pledge of Allegiance was observed.

III. ATTENDANCE

Present: Debbie Evans, Kathy Siena, Charles Sandell, Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, Maureen Parkes, Uma Bhatti, John Tamsberg

Absent: N/A

Staff present: Will Gurney (Landscape Supervisor), Michelle Diaz (Recording Secretary)

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

T-228 DECEMBER 6, 2023 TREE BOARD MINUTES

A motion was made by Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, and seconded by Kathy Siena, to approve and adopt the December 6, 2023 Tree Board meeting minutes as amended, unanimously passed by Debbie Evans, Kathy Siena, Charles Sandell, Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, Maureen Parkes, and John Tamsberg (6-0); with Uma Bhatti absent.

V. STAFF UPDATES

T-229 RECENT PLANTINGS & STATUS UPDATES – WILL GURNEY

Will Gurney updated the Tree Board on recent plantings, projects, and miscellaneous items.

T-230 TREE CANOPY STUDY

Tree Board discussed the status of planning an updated Tree Canopy Study for Wellington.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

T-231 EARTH/ARBOR DAY EVENT 2024

Staff updated the Tree Board members on the 2024 Earth/Arbor Day Event. Tree Board reviewed and discussed their participation in the 2024 Earth/Arbor Day Event.

T-232 TREE SEEDLINGS

Will Gurney updated the Tree Board on seedlings to be ordered and distributed to local school children and the 2024 Earth/Arbor Day Event.

T-233 F.L.O.W.E.R. AWARD NOMINATIONS

Tree Board reviewed and discussed deadlines for submitting nominations.

A motion was made by Kathy Siena, and seconded by John Tamsberg, to extend the deadline for submission of F.L.O.W.E.R. Award applications until at least March 7, 2024 and then hold a Tree Board meeting on March 20, 2024 to vote on the nomination. The motion was unanimously passed by Debbie Evans, Kathy Siena, Charles Sandell, Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, Maureen Parkes, and John Tamsberg (6-0); with Uma Bhatti absent.

T-234 WELLINGTON ENVIRONMENTAL PRESERVE (SECTION 24)

Tree Board discussed the Moncada project and the 10th Annual Great Places in Florida People's Choice Award.

T-235 TREE BOARD ANNUAL WORK PLAN 2024

Tree Board reviewed and discussed the 2024 Tree Board Annual Work Plan.

A motion was made by John Tamsberg, and seconded by Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, to accept the revisions made to the Tree Board Annual Work Plan under Section A. Education and Public Relations. The motion was unanimously passed by Debbie Evans, Kathy Siena, Charles Sandell, Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, Uma Bhatti, Maureen Parkes, and John Tamsberg (7-0).

A motion was made by Maureen Parkes, and seconded by Uma Bhatti, to accept the revisions made to the Tree Board Annual Work Plan under Section B. Partnerships. The motion was unanimously passed by Debbie Evans, Kathy Siena, Charles Sandell, Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, Uma Bhatti, Maureen Parkes, and John Tamsberg (7-0).

A motion was made by Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, and seconded by John Tamsberg, to accept the revisions made to the Tree Board Annual Work Plan under Section C. Planning & Management. The motion was unanimously passed by Debbie Evans, Kathy Siena, Charles Sandell, Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, Uma Bhatti, Maureen Parkes, and John Tamsberg (7-0).

A motion was made by John Tamsberg, and seconded by Charles Sandell, to accept the revisions made to the Tree Board Annual Work Plan under Goals for 2024. The motion was unanimously passed by Debbie Evans, Kathy Siena, Charles Sandell, Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, Uma Bhatti, Maureen Parkes, and John Tamsberg (7-0).

The Tree Board voted on approving the 2024 Tree Board Annual Work Plan, as amended. The vote was unanimous (7-0).

VII. COMMENTS

Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano and Will Gurney had discussion over the Tree Fund.

Tree Board had discussion about an article in the Town Crier regarding the K-Park proposal.

VIII. ADJOURN

A motion was made by Kathy Siena, and seconded by Charles Sandell, to adjourn at 3:44 PM. The motion was unanimously passed by Debbie Evans, Kathy Siena, Charles Sandell, Lisa Stattmiller-Ferrano, Maureen Parkes, and John Tamsberg (6-0); with Uma Bhatti absent.

NOTICE